A day of nature, sun, talking, tasting, relax and fun!

During my stay at the hostel in Cap-Ferret, I had the chance to meet some more or less interesting people. In that period of time I was not really interested in getting to know somebody for a “particular” reason, yes not that type of reason. However, since I am a friendly person and I am always interested in sharing moments with other people, I was open to be talkative, to share sometime with some folks and, who knew, maybe even to make new friends.

I have to say that, although I studied French for many years and I can communicate, to be fluent and confident in yourself is totally a different thing. I want to master this language even more in the future and if not being like a native-speaker at least to be able to speak faster and more naturally. But no matter what, during the time that I spent there I tried to talk as much as I could. It’s funny because since I have lived in L.A., and it’s for about 4 years, many people asked me if I am French. I tried to understand the reasons why and I even asked some of the people who had asked me why they had thought I was French. Some of them said it is because of my accent, others mentioned the way I dressed. Do not get me wrong, I do not mind that people think that I am French. I love France for many different reasons: my bff is French, the language, the wine, the cheese, the culture and much more. At least, I wish I could speak like a French person, probably one day!

Going back to my sojourn in Cap-Ferret, my usual day was to get up around 9/10 in the morning. Go to the common kitchen and prepare my breakfast, a caffelatte with cereals or some bread with jam. During one of those mornings, I got to meet this parisienne woman on her late ’50s. And while having breakfast, we decided to spend the day together by heading to a new beach called “La Pointe” where it was possible to have a great view of the “Dune du Pilat“. The parisienne woman, that I am going to call Sophie, had been in the area before and showed me around the area. It was nice to have my own personal chaperone. But the greatest thing about Sophie was her interesting life. She was a sort of artist, she owned a boutique somewhere in Paris and she had travelled a lot in her life. She had come to the States several years before and had lived here for a while working in the fashion business. She had totally that bohemien/hippie style, a very easy-going personality and a lot of stories to tell. One of them was the fact that even though her son and daughter had tried to convince her not to do it, she did it. Yes, she had left Paris and headed to Cap-Ferret hitchicking. She told me about the different people who had given her a lift; most of them were young people. I think she had been brave, adventurous and a bit crazy. However, she confessed that it was not her first time. She had done that before either in Europe and in the States.

After a long day at the beach during which we talked about our lives, got some great tan, bathed in warm, clean, wavy water, ate some sandwiches, drank a lot of water to satisfy our thirsty tongues, took great pictures of people and of the nature, we decided that it was about time to treat ourselves. How did we do that? Well, we went to one of those little farms/restos where we had some juicy, tasty, amazing oysters served with glasses of champagne. We cheered to our lives, to the present and to the future; we rested our tanned bodies admiring the bay, listening to the sound of the water, the wind and then started again to chitchat and laugh.

Thank you Sophie for the great day. I wonder how you are doing and if I am going to see you again. This is for you for the great, fun, interesting day we spent together in the beautiful, friendly atmosphere of Cap-Ferret!

Leave a Reply

