Can You Knit?

20131202-133632.jpg

A couple of days ago, I started knitting a scarf for my spouse; my first experiment ever. I watched a couple of videos on YouTube and after swearing to two different women who were going way too fast, I finally found a teaching video with this girl from Southern Italy. I liked her accent, she was very humble and I enjoyed her easy-going personality. Well, I have some doubts I will give this scarf to my partner because I am still making mistakes and I am not 100% happy with the result. Probably, I will keep for me and knit a better one for him.

If only I had the chance to learn when I was younger, I would have made it so quickly and nicely. Actually, when I was around 12, I knitted for a bit, but then I had to stop because it was not appropriate for a boy. One of my neighbors taught me, and for what I remember, I was not even that bad. I do not know if she is still alive, I hope so. However, she was from “Calabria”, a region of the South of Italy, (the vamp of the boot). She told me that in her village, there was a boy who used to knit and sew and because of that he used to be teased by some ignorant assholes. As I previously said, I was forced by my parents to stop knitting because it was not okay for a male to do this type of activity. They could have called me names, not they were not sometimes doing it no matter what I was doing.

Society, stereotypes and unnecessary judgement are just a bunch of bullshit; live your life, do what you want and if does not harm any other human being, just do it! Do not let anybody rule your world!

Leave a Reply

